Indy Lights - Vittorio Ghirelli

Ryan Phinny Belardi Auto Racing
Axcil Jefferies Belardi Auto Racing
Vittorio Ghirelli
Vittorio Ghirelli
Driver Info
Vittorio Ghirelli
Biography of Vittorio Ghirelli

2013: Auto GP World Champion, 2013 ... Under Title 21 Auto GP ... GP2 Series

2012: World Series by Renault 3.5

2011: GP3 Series Championship ... Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 ... Championship Formula Renault 2.0 ALPS

2010: Italian Formula 3 Championship ... GP3 Series Championship

2009: KF2 Champion and International Champion - Italian Open Masters 2009

2008: Step in KF3 WSK International Series, competing at international level. 3rd place at the Macau Grand Prix international CIK-FIA Asia Pacific

2007: Italian Championship Karting - 6th place

2006: Italian Karting Championship 60

Year Series Starts Wins Poles** Top 5 Top 10 Laps Led RAF
Year Series Starts Wins Poles** Top 5 Top 10 Laps Led RAF
2014 Indy Lights 4 0 0 1 2 0 2
Total 4 0 0 1 2 0 2
* Under INDYCAR sanction RAF = Running at Finish
** Includes all poles, including those awarded based on entrant points
Team Moore Racing

Mark Moore and Tom Wood formed Team Moore Racing in February 2007 to compete in  Firestone Indy Lights. The team finished 10th in its inaugural season, recording nine top-10 finishes.  It won its first race in the series with Pablo Donoso at Infineon Raceway in 2008.

Moore has more than 35 years of racing experience in all levels of the sport while Wood is a successful businessman who is the chairman and managing director of Xtreme Coil, an oil drilling corporation that is on the cutting edge of technology, with corporate headquarters in Calgary, Alberta. Wood made 21 starts in Firestone Indy Lights as a driver from 2002-07, recording seven top-five finishes.

Moore and Wood competed together with Kenn Hardley Racing in 2005 and 2006.  In that time, Moore performed double-duty as the team manager and race engineer, helping KHR become one of the premier teams in the series, finishing 2nd and 3rd in the championship during that period with multiple wins.

Over the years, TMR has competed with this impressive stable of drivers including Jonathan Klein, Dillon Battistini, Jeff Simmons, Pablo Donoso, Andrew Prendeville, Adrian Campos, Jr., James Hinchcliffe, Victor Garcia, David Ostella and Gustavo Yacaman, Jr.  Most notably James Hinchcliffe finished 2nd in the 2010 Championship and the following year went on to be Indy Car’s Rookie Driver of the Year.  James then secured a full time ride with Andretti Autosport in the car.

Mark Moore has carefully pulled together the most experienced mechanics, crew chiefs, and engineers to staff TMR.  In the past 3 seasons Team Moore Racing has won multiple races on all the varied circuits that comprise the Firestone Indy Lights Series, short oval, speedway, and street courses.  It is a challenge for our race engineers as well as to our drivers.

The team now enthusiastically looks forward to the 2013 season and its renewed quest for the championship.