Verizon IndyCar Series - James Davison

Verizon IndyCar SeriesVerizon IndyCar Series
Luca Filippi Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing
Jacques Villeneuve Schmidt Peterson Motorsports
James Davison
James  Davison
KV Racing Technology
  • 33
  • Australia
James Davison
Driver Info
James Davison
All-Time Career Statistics - Verizon IndyCar Series
  • Championship
  • Indy 500 Wins
  • Total Poles
  • Race Wins
Biography of James Davison

Davison earned his first Firestone Indy Lights victory in 2008 with Sam Schmidt Motorsports at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course. He also earned his first pole last season at Nashville Superspeedway.

Davison has previous driving experience and success in the Star Mazda, Champ Car Atlantic, Formula BMW USA, Victorian Formula Ford Series and competes in sports cars in the United States. A native Australian, his family is prominent in Australian motorsports. His grandfather, Lex Davison, won the Australian Grand Prix four times, while his father, Jon, raced Formula 5000, and his cousins, Alex and Will, race V8 Supercars.

Davison made his Verizon IndyCar Series debut in 2013 at Mid-Ohio and his Indianapolis 500 debut in 2014.

Year Series Starts Wins Poles** Top 5 Top 10 Laps Led RAF
2014 Verizon IndyCar Series 1 0 0 0 0 0 1
2013 Verizon IndyCar Series 2 0 0 0 0 0 2
Total 3 0 0 0 0 0 3
Year Series Starts Wins Poles** Top 5 Top 10 Laps Led RAF
2009 Indy Lights 15 1 3 8 14 84 15
2008 Indy Lights 16 1 1 3 5 34 14
Total 31 2 4 11 19 118 29
* Under INDYCAR sanction RAF = Running at Finish
** Includes all poles, including those awarded based on entrant points
KV Racing Technology

KV Racing Technology was founded in January 2003 and joined the Verizon IndyCar Series in 2008. The Indianapolis-based team is owned by successful venture capitalist Kevin Kalkhoven and 1996 CART IndyCar World Series champion Jimmy Vasser.


KVRT operates two teams full time in the Verizon IndyCar Series season. KVSH Racing, a partnership between Kalkhoven, Vasser and James “Sulli” Sullivan, fields an entry for four-time Champ Car champion Sebastien Bourdais. KV AFS Racing, a partnership between Kalkhoven, Vasser and Gary Peterson, fielda an entry for Sebastian Saavedra.


KV Racing Technology also qualified cars driven by Townsend Bell and rookie James Davison in the 2014 Indianapolis 500.