Verizon IndyCar Series - Justin Wilson

Verizon IndyCar SeriesVerizon IndyCar Series
Charlie Kimball Novo Nordisk Chip Ganassi Racing
Mikhail Aleshin Schmidt Peterson Motorsports
Justin Wilson
Justin  Wilson
Dale Coyne Racing
  • 19
  • United Kingdom
Justin Wilson
Driver Info
Justin Wilson
All-Time Career Statistics - Verizon IndyCar Series
  • Championship
  • Indy 500 Wins
  • Total Poles
  • Race Wins
Biography of Justin Wilson

Justin Wilson inherited his father's passion for racing, though his father's amateur racing career was ended by injuries before his son was born.

Wilson showed he had a talent for racing, winning titles in karting, formula cars and eventually progressing to Formula One, selling nearly 900 shares of himself to investors as a means of funding his racing career.

Joining the Verizon IndyCar Series in 2008, he won one race each in 2008, 2009 and 2012. He lives in Denver, where mountain biking is a passion and part of his workout regimen.


First start: March 29, 2008 (Homestead-Miami Speedway)
First victory: Aug. 31, 2008 (The Raceway at Belle Isle Park)
First pole: July 17, 2010 (Streets of Toronto)

• Finished 15th in Verizon IndyCar Series standings for Dale Coyne Racing.
• Recorded seven top-10 finishes, with best of fourth at Belle Isle 1.
• Led four races for total of 25 laps.

• Finished sixth in IndyCar Series standings for Dale Coyne Racing.
• Recorded seven top-five finishes, with a best of second at Sonoma.
• Posted 13 top-10 finishes overall.
• Had best qualifying effort of fourth at Baltimore, which is position he finished.
• Led four races for total of 19 laps.

• Finished 15th in IndyCar Series standings for Dale Coyne Racing.
• Won at Texas after starting 17th.
• Had six overall top-10 finishes.

• Competed in 11 races for Dreyer & Reinbold Racing. Suffered back injury in practice incident at Mid-Ohio in August.
• Recorded four top-10 finishes, with a best of fifth at Edmonton.
• Among the Firestone Fast Six competitors in the first three races of the season.

• Finished 11th in IndyCar Series standings for Dreyer & Reinbold Racing.
• Recorded eight top-10 finishes, with a best of second at St. Petersburg and Long Beach.
• Earned career-first pole at Toronto.
• Led two races for total of 43 laps.

• Finished ninth in IndyCar Series standings for Dale Coyne Racing.
• Gave Dale Coyne Racing its first IndyCar Series victory at Watkins Glen.
• Recorded three top-five and seven top-10 finishes.
• Started from the front row at three road/street course events.
• Led a total of 129 laps, including season-high 52 in finishing third at St. Petersburg.

• Finished 11th in IndyCar Series standings for Newman/Haas/Lanigan Racing.
• Won at The Raceway at Belle Isle, leading final 15 laps.
• Recorded seven top-10 finishes overall.


• Finished second in Champ Car World Series standings for RuSPORT/ with a win at Assen.
• Won poles at Portland and San Jose.
• Recorded nine top-five and 12 top-10 finishes.
• Competed in Grand Am Rolex SportsCar Series finale at Utah for Michael Shank Racing.

• Finished second in Champ Car World Series standings for RuSPORT/RSports despite missing Surfers Paradise race because of injury.
• Recorded win at Edmonton, 10 top-five finishes and 11 top-10 finishes.
• Won poles at Mexico City and Toronto.
• Finished second overall in Rolex 24 at Daytona for Michael Shank Racing.

• Finished third in Champ Car World Series standings for RuSPORT, earning his first Champ Car victories (Toronto and Mexico City as well as his first pole (Mexico City).
• Had eight top-five finishes and four front-row starts.

• Finished 11th in Champ Car World Series standings for Mi-Jack/Conquest Racing with best finish of fourth at Mexico City.
• Recorded two top-five finishes and eight top-10 finishes.

• Entered Formula 1 with Minardi before signing with Jaguar Racing for the final five races of the season, starting with the German Grand Prix.
• Scored first point at U.S. Grand Prix at Indianapolis.

• Finished fourth in the Telefonica World Series by Nissan standings for Racing Engineering.
• Won at Valencia (Spain) and Interlagos (Brazil), earned podium finishes in six other events.
• Earned Champ Car test with Newman/Haas Racing.

• Became first British driver to win FIA International F3000 championship.
• Broke the record for most points in a season (71) and podium finishes (10) as well as setting a new winning margin from the runner-up (36 points).
• Won at Interlagos (Brazil), A1 Ring (Austria) and Hungaroring (Hungary).

• Finished fifth in FIA International F3000 championship for Nordic Racing.
• Earned points in five races including podium finishes at Silverstone (England) and A1 Ring (Austria).

• One of seven drivers to qualify for every round of the FIA International F3000 championship in what was his rookie season in the series.
• Scored points in two events.

• Won inaugural Formula Palmer Audi championship, taking nine races wins including six of the final seven.
• Set six lap records and won four poles.
• Finalist for the McLaren Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year Award.

• Finished fourth in the Formula Vauxhall for Paul Stewart Racing.
• Earned three wins, two poles and seven podium finishes.

• Placed second in Formula Vauxhall Junior Championship for Paul Stewart Racing.
• Finished in the top five in every race with victory at Brands Hatch.

• Won the Formula Vauxhall Junior Challenge Cup and finished third in the Formula Vauxhall Junior championship.
• Won the BRDC Chris Bristow Trophy given to the most promising driver to race at Silverstone.
Early Career
• Won Formula Vauxhall Junior Championship debut with JLR Racing at age 16, the first 16-year-old to win a British auto race.
• Competed in karting, winning numerous races and club championships.

Year Series Starts Wins Poles** Top 5 Top 10 Laps Led RAF
2014 Verizon IndyCar Series 18 0 0 1 7 25 16
2013 Verizon IndyCar Series 19 0 0 7 13 19 17
2012 Verizon IndyCar Series 15 1 0 1 6 26 10
2011 Verizon IndyCar Series 11 0 0 1 4 0 10
2010 Verizon IndyCar Series 17 0 1 2 8 43 15
2009 Verizon IndyCar Series 17 1 0 3 7 129 13
2008 Verizon IndyCar Series 16 1 0 2 7 49 12
2008 Champ Car 1 0 1 0 0 0 0
2007 Champ Car 14 1 2 9 12 113 13
2006 Champ Car 13 1 2 10 11 172 11
2005 Champ Car 13 2 2 8 10 123 11
2004 Champ Car 14 0 0 2 8 1 11
Total 168 7 8 46 93 700 139
Year Series Starts Wins Poles** Top 5 Top 10 Laps Led RAF
* Under INDYCAR sanction RAF = Running at Finish
** Includes all poles, including those awarded based on entrant points
Dale Coyne Racing

Dale Coyne Racing is a long-standing staple in open-wheel racing. Starting in 1984 as a driver/owner, Dale Coyne ran several seasons of Indy car races. For several years the team raced with a stock-block engine, making Coyne a fan favorite. With the technical expertise of Coyne, the team built its own chassis in 1986, known as the DC-1.

Stepping out of the cockpit in 1990, Coyne turned his talents to the tutelage of several up-and-coming drivers. From Dean Hall in 1990 to Paul Tracy in 1991 and beyond, Coyne’s ability to recruit and coach drivers has shown well for drivers who have competed with this seasoned team.

Before making the transition to the IndyCar Series full time in 2008, the team competed in the Champ Car World Series with drivers such as Oriol Servia, Cristiano da Matta, Katherine Legge, Bruno Junqueira, Alex Barron, and Michel Jourdain Jr.

Dale Coyne Racing recorded its first victory in July 2009 at Watkins Glen International with Justin Wilson behind the wheel.