Verizon IndyCar Series - Martin Plowman

Verizon IndyCar SeriesVerizon IndyCar Series
Pippa Mann Dale Coyne Racing
Buddy Lazier Lazier Partners Racing, Inc.
Martin Plowman
Martin  Plowman
A.J. Foyt Enterprises
  • 41 ABCSupply Endplate
  • United Kingdom
Martin Plowman
Driver Info
Martin Plowman
  • Birthday: Oct 3, 1987
  • Hometown: Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire, England
  • Residence: Indianapolis, Ind
  • Website:
  • Team
All-Time Career Statistics - Verizon IndyCar Series
  • Championship
  • Indy 500 Wins
  • Total Poles
  • Race Wins
Biography of Martin Plowman
Martin Plowman has been focused on the top level of racing since childhood. From age 8, Plowman has embraced every challenge and honed his craft.
With a heralded career in karts and single-seaters in Europe, Plowman jumped across the pond to continue his training in the proving grounds of the American junior open-wheel ladder. After two seasons in Indy Lights, which saw him win his first race at Mid-Ohio, Plowman debuted in the Verizon IndyCar Series in 2011, making three starts for AFS/Sam Schmidt Motorsports.
Plowman switched to sports cars with Conquest Endurance in 2012, leading the underdog team to a second-place finish in ALMS P2 championship. Plowman and co-driver David Heinemeier Hansson won two races, three pole positions, and finishing on the podium in eight of 10 races.
That success led Plowman back to Europe, where he joined OAK Racing and his most successful year in motorsports. Driving a Morgan-Nissan alongside Bertrand Baguette and Ricardo Rodriguez, Plowman won the P2 Class at the 24 Hours of Le Mans and then claimed the FIA World Endurance Trophy for P2 Drivers as season-long champions.


First start: Aug. 7, 2011 (Mid-Ohio)

• Competed in three races with AFS/Sam Schmidt Motorsports with best finish of 11th at Baltimore.


• Won the FIA World Endurance Trophy for LMP2 Drivers for Oak Racing with two wins.
• Won LMP2 Class at the 24 Hours of Le Mans also won at Fuji.

• Finished second in P2 Class in American Le Mans Series for Conquest Endurance with two class wins (Mosport and Road America) and three poles.

• Finished third in Firestone Indy Lights standings for AFS/Andretti Autosport with a win at Mid-Ohio.
• Earned two poles and had three podiums.

• Finished 11th in Firestone Indy Lights standings as a rookie with Panther Racing.
• Finished fifth at Kansas and Mid-Ohio and recorded eight top-10 finishes.

• Drove in Formula 3 Euro Series with RC Motorsport, powered by Volkswagen.
• Finished 14th at Zandvoort Masters of F3 at Zolder.

• Finished seventh in Formula Renault Italia for Prema Powerteam.
• Recorded podium finishes in Formula Renault Italia at Vallelunga, Spa, and Misano.
• Also competed in Formula Renault Eurocup.

• Finished fifth in Formula Renault Italia for Prema Powerteam.
• Was the top rookie in standings with best finish of second at Hockenheim after starting from pole position.
• Also competed in Formula Renault Eurocup with a best result of eighth.
• Became a member of the Toyota Young Driver Program.

• Finished second in Formula A French Open International Championship at Ostricourt.
• Drove in CIK/FIA Formula A World Kart Championship

• Was selected by motorsport legend Alex Zanardi as sole works driver for his World Championship karting team.
• Won the CIK/FIA Formula A Asia Pacific Championship in Team Zanardi's third race.
• Elected as a member of the British Racing Drivers Club as a Rising Star.

• Became the youngest winner of French Formula A Open International Championship after earning four wins in 10 starts.
• Finished third in CIK/FIA Formula A Asia Pacific Championship and Formula A Coppa di Campeones (E).
• Finished sixth in CIK/FIA Formula A World Kart Championship.

Early career: Competed in karting in England and in international karting events, scoring numerous race wins and championships.

Year Series Starts Wins Poles** Top 5 Top 10 Laps Led RAF
2014 Verizon IndyCar Series 2 0 0 0 0 0 2
2011 Verizon IndyCar Series 3 0 0 0 0 0 3
Total 5 0 0 0 0 0 5
Year Series Starts Wins Poles** Top 5 Top 10 Laps Led RAF
2010 Indy Lights 13 1 0 7 11 69 10
2009 Indy Lights 15 0 0 2 8 0 14
Total 28 1 0 9 19 69 24
* Under INDYCAR sanction RAF = Running at Finish
** Includes all poles, including those awarded based on entrant points
A.J. Foyt Enterprises

A.J. Foyt, the first four-time winner of the Indianapolis 500, founded A.J. Foyt Enterprises, a race shop based in Waller, Texas, in 1965.

Foyt has won more Indianapolis-style championship races (67) than any driver in history. He has a record seven national Indy-style driving championship titles to his name and a total of 12 major driving championships in various categories.

Foyt has raced everything from midgets to stock cars. He won the 24 Hours of LeMans in 1967 and the Daytona 500 in 1972. He is the only driver to win those two events along with the Indianapolis 500, which he won in 1961, 1964, 1967 and 1977. He was the inaugural inductee into the Motorsports Hall of Fame in 1989.

Foyt retired from driving Indy cars in 1993 to concentrate his efforts on team ownership but returned to the driver's seat at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway in 1994 to compete in the inaugural Brickyard 400 NASCAR race.

Foyt earned his first Indianapolis 500 victory solely as a car owner with driver Kenny Brack in 1999. Foyt's team won IndyCar Series titles in 1996 and 1998. His son, Larry, is the team director.