Verizon IndyCar Series - Ryan Briscoe

Verizon IndyCar SeriesVerizon IndyCar Series
Sebastien Bourdais KVSH Racing
James Hinchcliffe Andretti Autosport
Ryan Briscoe
Ryan Briscoe
Driver Info
Ryan Briscoe
All-Time Career Statistics - Verizon IndyCar Series
  • Championship
  • Indy 500 Wins
  • Total Poles
  • Race Wins
Biography of Ryan Briscoe

Ryan Briscoe has traveled from the go-kart tracks of Australia to some of the world's most famous racing circuits, including the Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

Briscoe was one of the most successful go-kart racers in Australian when he moved to Italy at age 15 to become a factory kart driver, a move that would lead him to formula cars and eventually linking him with Toyota and its Formula One team. He debuted in the Verizon IndyCar Series in 2005.

Briscoe enjoys gadgets, going to the beach and other watersports. He and his wife, Nicole, welcomed their first child in December 2013.



First start:
March 6, 2005 (Homestead-Miami Speedway)
First pole start: Aug. 28, 2005 (Infineon Raceway)
First victory:
June 1, 2008 (The Milwaukee Mile)

• Finished 11th in Verizon IndyCar Series standings for Chip Ganassi Racing Teams.
• Recorded on top-five finish and 10 top 10s, with a best of fourth at Pocono.

• Competed in seven races for Chip Ganassi Racing Teams (Indianapolis 500) and Panther Racing.
• Had best finish of 12th at Indianapolis after starting 23rd.

• Finished sixth in IndyCar Series standings for Team Penske.
• Won at Sonoma and added four other top-five results.
• Earned poles at Long Beach and Indianapolis.

• Finished sixth in IndyCar Series standings for Team Penske.
• Recorded four podium finishes and 10 top 10s, with a best of second at Long Beach after starting 12th.
• Had front-row starts at Barber and Mid-Ohio.
• Was running at the finish in 15 of the 17 races.


• Finished fifth in IndyCar Series standings for Team Penske.
• Won at Texas from pole for sixth career victory and added seven other top-five finishes.
• Earned three pole starts overall for third consecutive season with at least one.
• Led 10 races for 308 laps, with high of 102 at Texas, and was running at finish in 15 of the 17 races.


• Finished third in IndyCar Series standings for Team Penske.
• Recorded three victories, including the opener at St. Petersburg, and four pole starts.
• Started from the front row in nine races.
• Finished runner-up eight times, including record-tying three consecutive races.
• Was running at the finish in 16 of the 17 races. 


• Finished fifth in IndyCar Series standings for Team Penske.
• Won twice during championship season, and won the non-points race in Surfers Paradise, Australia.
• Won three PEAK Motor Oil Pole Awards, including his first on an oval at Chicagoland.
• Only driver to participate in every Firestone Fast Six session on street/road courses.


• Started seventh and finished fifth in Indianapolis 500 for Luczo Dragon Racing.


• Finished 21st in IndyCar Series standings driving a limited schedule with Dreyer & Reinbold Racing.
• Made four starts, finishing career-best third at Watkins Glen International in debut with team. Also recorded a ninth-place finish at Nashville.


• Finished 19th in IndyCar Series standings for Target Chip Ganassi Racing with a best finish of eighth (Nashville).
• Captured first career pole at Infineon Raceway.



• Finished second in American Le Mans Series' LMP2 Class for Penske Racing. Teamed with Sascha Maassen to score two overall wins (Utah and Lime Rock) and one overall pole (Belle Isle). Also scored class win at St. Petersburg.


• Competed for Team Australia in A1GP championship with best finish of third (China and Holland).
• Placed second and third in Grand Am Rolex Sports Car Series events at Watkins Glen for Suntrust Racing.
• Made two starts in Champ Car for RuSPORT.


• Served as test driver for Panasonic Toyota Racing in Formula 1. Served as third driver for Friday practice sessions at Hungaroring, Spa-Francochamps, Monza, Shanghai and Interlagos (Brazil).


• Won Formula 3 Euroseries Championship for Prema Powerteam with eight victories (Hockenheim 1, 2 and 4, Adria 2, Pau 1, A-1 Ring 1 and 2 and Zandvoort 2).
• Served as official Toyota Racing Development test driver, with occasional Formula 1 tests for Panasonic Toyota Racing.


• Competed in Formula 3000 International Championship for Nordic Racing with best finish of 12th (Interlagos, Barcelona and Silverstone).
• Competed in German Formula 3 Championship for Prema Powerteam with three podium finishes in six starts.
• Served as Toyota Drivers Academy driver and test driver for Panasonic Toyota Racing.

• Won Italian Formula Renault 2000 Championship for Prema Powerteam with five wins and six pole positions.
• Finished fourth in Formula Renault Eurocup for Prema Powerteam with two wins despite missing four races.
• Signed as Toyota Drivers Academy driver and earned Formula 1 test with Panasonic Toyota Racing.

• Competed in Italian Formula Renault 2000 Winter Series with one win and three pole positions.

• Competed in kart racing in Australia and Italy, winning the Italian Formula A, Australian state championship, three Australian championships and one Oceania championship. Twice named C.A.M.S. Junior Karter of the Year.

Year Series Starts Wins Poles** Top 5 Top 10 Laps Led RAF
2014 Verizon IndyCar Series 18 0 0 1 10 5 18
2013 Verizon IndyCar Series 7 0 0 0 0 0 5
2012 Verizon IndyCar Series 15 1 2 5 8 77 12
2011 Verizon IndyCar Series 17 0 0 4 10 45 15
2010 Verizon IndyCar Series 17 1 3 8 12 308 15
2009 Verizon IndyCar Series 17 3 4 13 13 739 16
2008 Verizon IndyCar Series 17 2 3 5 11 202 12
2007 Verizon IndyCar Series 1 0 0 1 1 0 1
2006 Verizon IndyCar Series 4 0 0 1 2 0 2
2006 Champ Car 2 0 0 0 0 0 2
2005 Verizon IndyCar Series 14 0 1 0 3 59 6
Total 129 7 13 38 70 1435 104
Year Series Starts Wins Poles** Top 5 Top 10 Laps Led RAF
* Under INDYCAR sanction RAF = Running at Finish
** Includes all poles, including those awarded based on entrant points
NTT Data Chip Ganassi Racing

Chip Ganassi stormed onto the national racing scene at the 1982 Indianapolis 500, where he became the fastest rookie qualifier and finished 15th. Following a successful career as a driver, highlighted by an eighth-place finish in the 1983 Indianapolis 500, Ganassi set his sights on ownership in 1988.

Ganassi created his own Indy car team in 1990 and established a partnership with Target that endures to this day.

Target Chip Ganassi Racing driver Jimmy Vasser captured the CART championship in 1996. Alex Zanardi followed Vasser's lead and earned CART titles in 1997 and 1998. With rookie driver Juan Montoya's championship in 1999, Ganassi became the first owner to earn four consecutive CART championships.

Montoya won the 2000 Indianapolis 500 for Target Chip Ganassi Racing, which was making its first appearance at the Brickyard since 1995. In 2002, Bruno Junqueira earned the pole position for the Indianapolis 500 and led 32 laps before engine problems ended his day.

The team joined the IndyCar Series full time in 2002 with driver Jeff Ward. It's gone on to win the series championship in 2003 and 2008 with Scott Dixon and 2007, 2009 and 2010 with Dario Franchitti. Franchitti (2010) and Dixon (2008) also have added to the team's Indianapolis 500 victory total.

In May 2013, NTT Data partnered with Chip Ganassi Racing to sponsor Ryan Briscoe in the 2013 Indianapolis 500 and continued as an associate sponsor. It became a primary car sponsor in 2014.