Verizon IndyCar Series - Sage Karam

Verizon IndyCar SeriesVerizon IndyCar Series
Tony Kanaan NTT Data Chip Ganassi Racing
Charlie Kimball Novo Nordisk Chip Ganassi Racing
Driver Info
Sage Karam
All-Time Career Statistics - Verizon IndyCar Series
  • Championship
  • Indy 500 Wins
  • Total Poles
  • Race Wins
Biography of Sage Karam

Sage Karam of Nazareth, Pa., is a Mazda Road to Indy scholarship recipient, having won the 2010 USF2000 National Championship with Andretti Autosport and the 2013 Indy Lights title with Schmidt Peterson Motorsports.

He previously competed in various karting series, becoming a 35-time World Karting Association and IRL Stars of Karting National champion. At the age of 13, Karam was the youngest driver to win the annual Skip Barber Karting Scholarship Shoot-out. In addition, he was the only American driver to compete in both a national karting championship and an open-wheel professional series full time in 2009.

He's involved in Operation Smile, a children’s charity that has been treating facial deformities such as cleft lips and cleft palates around the world. He made his Verizon IndyCar Series debut in 2014 in the Indianapolis 500 Mile Race.


First start: May 25, 2014 (Indianapolis 500)

• Finished ninth after qualifying 31st in Indianapolis 500 for Dreyer & Reinbold-Kingdom Racing.


• Competed in Rolex 24 At Daytona and 12 Hours of Sebring for Target Chip Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates.

• Won Indy Lights championship with Schmidt Peterson Motorsports.
• Recorded three victories and three pole starts.
• Received Indy Lights Rookie of the Year award.

• Finished third in Star Mazda Championship standings with Andretti Autosport.
• Recorded three victories and two pole starts.

• Finished fifth in Star Mazda Championship standings with Andretti Autosport.
• Recorded two victories and two pole starts.
• Earned series Rookie of the Year award.

• Won USF2000 championship with Andretti Autosport.
• Recorded victories in nine of the 12 races.
• Earned series Rookie of the Year award.


Competed in Skip Barber National series, earning the Rising Star award in 2009. ... Skip Barber Shootout champion in 2008. ... Multiple national karting victories and championships.

Year Series Starts Wins Poles** Top 5 Top 10 Laps Led RAF
2014 Verizon IndyCar Series 1 0 0 0 1 0 1
Total 1 0 0 0 1 0 1
Year Series Starts Wins Poles** Top 5 Top 10 Laps Led RAF
2012 Pro Mazda 17 3 2 10 13 124 13
Total 17 3 2 10 13 124 13
2013 Indy Lights 12 3 3 10 12 163 12
Total 12 3 3 10 12 163 12
* Under INDYCAR sanction RAF = Running at Finish
** Includes all poles, including those awarded based on entrant points
Target Chip Ganassi Racing

Chip Ganassi stormed onto the national racing scene at the 1982 Indianapolis 500, where he became the fastest rookie qualifier and finished 15th. Following a successful career as a driver, highlighted by an eighth-place finish in the 1983 Indianapolis 500, Ganassi set his sights on ownership in 1988.

Ganassi created his own Indy car team in 1990 and established a partnership with Target that endures to this day.

Target Chip Ganassi Racing driver Jimmy Vasser captured the CART championship in 1996. Alex Zanardi followed Vasser's lead and earned CART titles in 1997 and 1998. With rookie driver Juan Montoya's championship in 1999, Ganassi became the first owner to earn four consecutive CART championships.

Montoya won the 2000 Indianapolis 500 for Target Chip Ganassi Racing, which was making its first appearance at the Brickyard since 1995. In 2002, Bruno Junqueira earned the pole position for the Indianapolis 500 and led 32 laps before engine problems ended his day.

The team joined the Verizon IndyCar Series full time in 2002 with driver Jeff Ward. It's gone on to win the series championship in 2003, 2008 and 2013 with Scott Dixon and 2007, 2009 and 2010 with Dario Franchitti. Franchitti (2010, 2012) and Dixon (2008) also have added to the team's Indianapolis 500 victory total.